AAF Jackson hosts 2021 ADDY Awards

JACKSON, Miss. (February 23, 2022)-AAF Jackson presented its annual American Advertising (ADDY) Awards celebration of creative excellence on Thursday, February 17, 2022 at Duling Hall.

This year’s ADDY theme was “Dueling at Duling…Old School”, with Author and Brand Strategist Guru Maranda Joiner serving as emcee. In keeping with the “Dueling” theme, entertainment was provided by three dueling musical acts, “Piano” Rob Volpe from Walt Disney World®, along with DJ Adam “AJC” Collier and “Banjo Man” Cole Furlow, both of Jackson. In between award presentations, the show paid tribute to three legends the creative community lost this past year – Alan Goodson, Mary Lee, and Sergio Fernandez.

The event honored 12 Gold ADDY® winners, 28 Silver ADDY® winners, and 12 recipients for “Best of Show & Of the Year” awards. This year, the Mosaic Award was given to MWB Creative, also known as Maris, West & Baker, for their work for the Mississippi Home Corporation’s RAMP UP campaign. This award recognizes companies, agencies, and individuals whose commitment to diversity and inclusion is evident through their creative work and organization-wide initiatives.

Jim Temple of DIG Creative Solutions received the 2021 Silver Medal Award, the most prestigious award presented by AAF Jackson and the American Advertising Federation. The annual award recognizes the most outstanding advertising professional in the metro Jackson area who has dedicated their efforts beyond themselves and has made a difference in the industry and the community.

67 entries were judged by Stephen Curry, Executive Creative Director, at Lewis Communications in Birmingham, AL, Jason Corbin, Creative Director at Taylor Strategy in New York, NY, and Heidi Guerra, Marketing Manager, at Abita Brewery in Abita, LA.

Following is a complete list of all 2021 AAF Jackson American Advertising Awards winners:

2021 Best of Show/Of the Year Awards 

  • Overall Best of Show: MWB Creative for Visit Mississippi TV Campaign
  • Broadcast/Video: MWB Creative for Visit Mississippi “Wander TV”
  • Sound Design: MWB Creative for Visit Mississippi “Wander” Music
  • Print: MWB Creative for Visit Mississippi “Tishomingo”
  • Art Director of the Year: Parker Jaynes, MWB Creative
  • Copywriter of the Year: Marlo Kirkpatrick, Kirkpatrick & Porch Creative
  • Graphic Designer of the Year: Alecia Porch, Kirkpatrick & Porch Creative
  • Creative Director of the Year: Randy Lynn, MWB Creative
  • Editor of the Year: Bobby Anderson, MWB Creative
  • Videographer of the Year: Damien Blaylock, MWB Creative
  • Photographer of the Year: Jennifer Hobson, Miskelly Furniture
  • Interactive Designer of the Year: Austin Cannon, MWB Creative

2021 Mosaic Award
MWB Creative for Mississippi Home Corporation’s RAMP UP Campaign

2021 Winners (by Agency)
Ergon, Inc.: One Gold ADDY® Award, Four Silver ADDY® Awards

Kirkpatrick & Porch Creative in collaboration with The Allen Company: One Gold ADDY® Award, One Silver ADDY® Award

Kirkpatrick & Porch Creative: Two Of the Year Awards, Two Gold ADDY® Awards, One Silver ADDY® Award

Lightning Bottle Advertising: Two Silver ADDY® Awards

Miskelly Furniture: One Of the Year Award, Two Silver ADDY® Awards

MWB Creative:  Four Best of Show Awards, Five Of the Year Awards, Seven Gold ADDY® Awards, 15 Silver ADDY® Awards, Mosaic Award

Spot On Productions, LLC: One Gold ADDY® Award, One Silver ADDY® Award

WLBT-TV: One Silver ADDY® Award

2021 Silver Medal Award
Jim Temple of DIG Creative Solutions

Following the Jackson chapter awards, local winners will compete in the AAF District 7 level of the American Advertising Awards, a three-tiered national competition. District winners will proceed to compete on the national level, which represents the advertising industry’s largest and most representative competition for creative excellence.

About AAF Jackson
AAF Jackson is Central Mississippi’s only chapter of the American Advertising Federation, one of three Mississippi chapters in the AAF’s 7th District. The mission of AAF Jackson is to inspire, empower, and applaud the professional growth of marketing communications specialists. For more information, visit

About AAF District 7
The American Advertising Federation (AAF) District 7 represents five states: Alabama, Georgia, lower Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee. AAF District 7’s mission is to strengthen local AAF affiliate organizations (clubs, federations, and college chapter members) through leadership training, education, communication, idea forums, enrichment, and recognition programs; promote advertising industry standards; encourage professional development; enhance and encourage business opportunities for professional and student members; defend the advertising industry against adverse governmental action; and act as a liaison between national AAF and local chapters to ensure the vitality of the advertising profession.